Our two choices

“There are two kinds of people: those who say to God ‘Thy will be done,’ and those to whom God says, ‘Alright then, have it your way.'” – C.S. Lewis

I misread this quote the first time I came across it.  I read it as there are two choices: telling God “Thy will be done” and telling God “Alright then, have it Your way.”

Even though it’s not true to the original quote, my version is much more reflective of my heart.  I have prayed honest prayers for the Lord to do His will, whatever that may be.  And yet, when His will is heartbreakingly the exact opposite of what I hoped for, I have cried out to Him in frustration, “Fine! Have it Your way!”

It’s forcing me to take an honest look at my heart and ask if I really want His will more than anything.  When He’s clearly leading us, even in a direction we don’t want to go, will we go joyfully?  Or will we go kicking and screaming?

I’m trying to find the balance of grieving a dream, yet not to the point that I’m grieving over what God has planned for me.  At some point I have to gently let go of my idea for our future and choose to believe that His promise is true and His plans are good.

One thought on “Our two choices

Leave a Reply

