In His Care

“Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:6-7

This morning, I read in Jesus Calling that we often have an intellectual acceptance of God’s sovereignty.  We know He’s in control and we know that’s a good thing.  Yet, when His sovereignty impacts our little perceived area of control, we get defensive and resentful.  I’m not exactly resentful that He’s in control of building our family.  I am just nervous about how He’s choosing to do it.  It’s like I’m looking over His shoulder as He’s leading us saying, “You might not want to do that!” and “Be careful there!” and finally, ” Why don’t you just let me take over from here?”  I’m tempted to be a back-seat driver on our journey.  And I feel that way out of anxiety that it’s not going to happen in a way that seems good to me.

Every few days I am reminded to humble myself to His control and trust His goodness.  His hand is mighty.  This scripture promises (not just suggests or teaches — promises) that if I submit to His control, He will lift me up at the proper time.

Peter is even so wise to know that the thing that keeps us from releasing control is our anxiety.  Right after he says to submit to the Lord, he says we do that by casting our anxieties on Him.  He knows that our need for control is born out of our anxiety that things won’t happen in a way that we think is best.

I’m always tempted to be frustrated at my worries, thinking I should get over it or be able to better conceal them and pretend they don’t exist.  But Peter doesn’t seem surprised or ashamed that we have worries.  He doesn’t apologize for being anxious.  He just says to take hold our anxiety and throw it off on the Lord.  We release our grip and give it to Someone more capable of actually overcoming it.

“Because He cares for you.”

I used to read over this quickly, knowing that God cares for me and loves me.  Duh.  But this morning, He showed me a fresh view of  His care.  It’s not just that I can cast my anxiety on Him because He loves me.  He cares for me too.  He cares for me the way a parent cares for a sick child — watching over her, staying with her so she’ll rest, getting her what she needs when she’s too weak to help herself.  He cares for me in the very active sense of the word.

As we begin a new chapter of our infertility walk, I am so grateful that God reminded me this morning that He is caring for us.  I can list out the things I’m anxious about and literally toss them to Him, knowing He will attend to our every need.  He will relieve the worry, He will soothe any pain, and He will sit with us so we can rest.

Our humility under His control is not just about relieving worry — it’s about renewing our hope that He will exalt us at the proper time.

 

Leave a Reply

